The Rosebuds: Loud Planes Fly Low

In my opinion this is by far the most interesting and catchy album from The Rosebuds yet. It is a mix of forlorn imagery, subtle melodies, and hopeful melancholy. Loud Planes Fly Low happens to be a post-relationship album for the primary duo behind the band, Ivan Howard and Kelly Crisp. It is not to be thought of as a break-up album however, but rather a staying-together-as-musicians album. For this reason they are playing and singing intriguing new music about change. As the distressed print on the album cover reads: The Toughlove Process.

The Rosebuds - Loud Planes Fly Low cover

Back on June 10th I had the pleasure of seeing them perform live at new freshly renovated venue here in Wilmington. I had completely forgotten that they were going to be in town until a friend reminded me the night-of and I couldn’t have been happier to go. The show was excellent, it made my week for sure. They started out playing a handful of tracks from previous albums and then followed with most of the material off Loud Planes Fly Low. Of course I didn’t realize that during the show. This was simultaneously the day I found out they even had a new album, picked it up on the way out of the concert, and listened later that night for the first time.

I must admit it took at least two listens before I began to fully grasp and enjoy this album. But once I did: hooked.

Official website

Track list:

  1. Go Ahead
  2. Limitless Arms
  3. Second Bird of Paradise
  4. Come Visit Me
  5. Without a Focus
  6. Waiting for You
  7. Woods
  8. A Story
  9. Cover Ears
  10. Worthwhile