Rustie: Glass Swords

Not due out for a few weeks, Rustie’s debut album landed on my desk this morning. Cutting edge and intelligent, this new style of electro does not disappoint. I also just want to say how unbelievably jawesome this album artwork is.

Rustie - Glass Swords cover

Two years in the making, Glass Swords is out on none other than Warp records. Fueled by a combination of loves for obscure Japanese prog-rock, 16-bit video game soundscapes, icy grime, and Detroit-style techno, Rustie is creating a new vision of electronic music. Each track takes you on a unique escapade of building tension and release. Clear stand-outs have been Surph, Ultra Thizz, Death Mountain, and Cry Flames. Even the track names do justice to the songs themselves.

Skittish hooks, warm textures, hum-along melodies, wicked production u-turns. You’re going to enjoy the jittery over-caffeinated feeling you’ll have after listening.

Rustie facebook.

Track List:

  1. Glass Swords
  2. Flash Back
  3. Surph
  4. Hover Traps
  5. City Star
  6. Globes
  7. Ultra Thizz
  8. Death Mountain
  9. Cry Flames
  10. After Light
  11. Ice Tunnels
  12. All Nite
  13. Crystal Echo