M83: Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming

Set to be released next week, Anthony Gonzalez, aka M83, took three years out of his life to create this double-disc masterpiece for us and for that I thank him.

M83 - Hurry Up, We're Dreaming cover

Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming’ is nothing short of a dream in itself; a dream that we can (re)live in its 73 minute run-time again and again, each time with an imagination replenished. It’s an extravagant and creative look at childhood, imagination, fear, heroism, triumph, friendship, and perhaps most importantly, dreams.

The Sunset in the Rearview blog summarized the album quite well:

Parts of Gonzalez’s album (Raconte-Moi Une Histoire) takes you back there–to the places of childhood, where you traveled on those bright summer days. Back to where the lakes became oceans and the hills became mountains. Other parts of the album focus on the awkward, pent-up energy and angst of adolescence (Reunion) and the responsibility and relative shittiness of adulthood (“My Tears Are Becoming a Sea”). The album as whole is life as seen through a very particular lens that Gonzalez chooses to adopt. A world is created before our eyes (or ears?), and half way through our first listen, we realize that it’s our world. Gonzalez is telling us the honest story of our own lives, and he tells it so very eloquently through intricate, multi-layered instrumentation, powerful, atmospheric interludes, luscious, pitch-perfect harmonies, and raw, gut-wrenching vocals.

M83 website

Track list:

Disc 1:

  1. Intro (feat. Zola Jesus)
  2. Midnight City
  3. Reunion
  4. Where the Boats Go
  5. Wait
  6. Raconte-Moi Une Histoire
  7. Train to Pluton
  8. Claudia Lewis
  9. This Bright Flash
  10. When Will You Come Home?
  11. Soon, My Friend

Disc 2:

  1. My Tears Are Becoming a Sea
  2. New Map
  3. OK Pal
  4. Another Wave from You
  5. Splendor
  6. Year One, One UFO
  7. Fountains
  8. Steve McQueen
  9. Echoes of Mine
  10. Klaus I Love You
  11. Outro